Opinions on technology focused products and it’s effect on our world.

March 24, 2017

Next

So, what it is you do all day?

September 17, 2015

Ad Supported

In a few weeks time, iOS 9 will launch with Safari Content Blocker. This technology allows the general public to use content blockers (better known as ad-blockers) on their iPhones. It's kind of a big deal.

September 9, 2015

Lost in Your Vision

Dustin Curtis recently wrote about Fixing Twitter — most of which I can't say I agree with — but he did touch on an idea I like to call being Lost in your Vision.

August 26, 2015

Million Dollar Products

What would a family business look like in the software industry?

May 4, 2015

Measuring emotion

What happens when we stop trying to measure emotion and start feeling it instead?

October 2, 2014

Taste and The Zen of GitHub

About two years ago, GitHub's product development team was growing fast and I found myself thinking about taste a lot. We were getting an influx of new points of view, new opinions, new frames of reference for good taste. But how do you ensure your organization has good taste?

September 4, 2014

Ego

I remember the first time Bitbucket straight up stole one of my designs. The layout. The borders. The shadows. The exact information on the page!

I was angry.

August 23, 2014

Tweet Tweet

As I sit in my apartment right now, I'm assuming what is effectively the entirety of the technology industry is managing the task rabbits packing their art cars, private chefs, fusion reactors, and backup iPads into their U-Hauls for the long journey to the Black Rock Desert. Oh — and drugs — lots, and lots of drugs.

August 6, 2014

Investors of Secret: I have a favor to ask

Secret's champions claim the service will overcome the darker side of human behavior and won't become a tool for bullying and defamation. I'm not so sure, so I have a favor to ask.

January 3, 2014

Product

Product is the reason that I build software. I want to create things that bring people joy. I want to build things I can be proud of. Things that makes the world a better place.

January 28, 2013

Pixels don’t care

There's plenty of discrimination and intolerance in our world, but never forget that pixels don't care.

January 4, 2013

Patent reasoning

In which the entire situation is just fucked. Let's make it better.

December 3, 2012

Dumb software

An ode to dumb software, my favorite kind.

December 5, 2011

Knyle Style Sheets

Documentation for any flavor of CSS that you’ll love to write.

November 7, 2011

Knyle style recruiting

A better way to hire people.

October 17, 2011

Mustache, ERB and the future of templating

The best of mustache, all in ERB.

August 25, 2011

Relentless Quality

Musings on a culture of relentless quality.

August 2, 2011

Deploying: Then & Now

Of deploying a major feature on a stage and my love for Hubot.

June 28, 2011

Designing GitHub for Mac

An analysis of my process.

June 14, 2011

Build your business around an idea

March 30, 2011

Product design at GitHub

An inspection into the product design process we've carved out.

December 28, 2010

URL Design

A pragmatic approach to designing the glue of the web.